“Children in early years take care of their environment and each other. They rejoice in talking about their ideas and are curious about the world around them.”

(Ofsted, July 2022)


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including school reception classes.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.

As well as being the core document for all professionals working in the foundation years, the EYFS framework gives mums and dads confidence that regardless of where they choose for their child’s early education, they can be assured that the same statutory commitments and principles will underpin their child’s learning and development experience.

Our EYFS Policy can be found on our policies page.

Areas of learning

Your child will mostly be taught through games and play.

The areas of learning are:


Your child’s class teacher will assess them using the Reception Baseline Assessment (RBA) within the first six weeks of school.

The children will also be assessed at the end of the school year. This assessment is based on classroom observation – your child won’t be tested. It uses the early learning goals, which can be found in the early years framework.